Skip to Content

What Are The Categories Carriers and Drivers are Scored on in CSA?


There are 7 compliance categories on which carriers and drivers are scored in CSA. These are known as the Behavioral Analysis and Safety Improvement Categories (BASICs).

  • Unsafe Driving
  • Hours of Service Compliance
  • Driver Fitness
  • Controlled Substances and Alcohol
  • Vehicle Maintenance
  • Hazardous Materials Compliance
  • Crash-Related

Click on the picture below to read a full description about each category.


Call ARCpoint Labs of Southboro-Framingham at (508)834-3760 to learn more about keeping your DOT Company in compliance.

FMCSA compliance manual: How to comply with DOT’s safety regulations. (2016). Neenah, WI: J.J. Keller & Associates.

ARCpoint Labs of Southborough - Framingham is proud to be a member of and/or support the following associations: