Skip to Content



There are six agencies under the US Department of Transportation (DOT). Each agency has its own rules and regulations to follow to be in compliance.

An example of who would fall under The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) would be companies operating vehicles with a gross vehicle mass (GVM) of 26001 lbs. or more.

While as, Federal Transit Administration (FTA) includes local public transit systems operating buses, light rails, commuter rails, and other public services used for transporting people.

Although FMCSA and FTA are different agencies under the Department of Transportation with different protocols and procedures, all employees who perform safety sensitive functions must be in a drug and alcohol testing program.

Each agency has a different definition for safety sensitive functions.

Per FTA, safety sensitive functions include the following:

  1. Operating a revenue service vehicle
  2. Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) holders
  3. Dispatch/controlling movement of vehicles
  4. Maintaining a revenue service vehicle or related equipment
  5. Security personnel carrying firearms

Per FMCSA, safety sensitive functions only include CDL Holders.

ARCpoint Labs of Southboro-Framingham provides services for all agencies that fall within the Department of Transportation. Call (508)834-3760 to find out how we can add value to your current program!





ARCpoint Labs of Southborough - Framingham is proud to be a member of and/or support the following associations: